Skip to product information
1 of 4

Floris Books

Eight-Year-Old Legend Book

Eight-Year-Old Legend Book

Regular price 27.99 AUD
Regular price 27.99 AUD Sale price 27.99 AUD
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

A collection of enchanting eastern adventure tales for children who are themselves learning to become clever and brave.


  • Format: paperback
  • Size: 216 x 138 mm
  • Illustrations: 10 b/w line illustrations
  • Age Range: From 7 to 10 years
  • Extent:120 pages



    This collection of stories is based upon tales told by the Buddha to his monks 2500 years ago. Isabel Wyatt’s enchanting retelling conjures up a rich world of eastern legend, ruled by courtly kings and wise men, and populated by brave princes, faithful elephants and cunning monkeys. The stories tell of great adventures and heroes, of danger and courage, and most importantly of how wisdom and thoughtfulness always triumph over selfishness and greed.

    This anthology was compiled with children around the age of eight in mind -- children who are embarking on more and more adventures in their own lives, and themselves learning to become clever and brave.

    Table of Contents

    • The Prince Who Ate Swords
    • How Milk-White Flew
    • The Lame Cat and the Potter
    • The King’s Friend
    • The Ape-king
    • The Sneeze that Won a Wife
    • Prince Bowman
    • Monkey Fat
    • The Lotus Garland
    • The Boy Who Found Water
    • The Speech of Beasts
    • Prince Grit-in-the-Eye
    • Rats at the Lute
    • Prince Sun and Princess Moon
    • Big Sage and Little Sage
    • The Four Dangers


    'For anyone who likes myths and folk tales, this book fulfills the need admirably…well worth buying.'
    --Books for Keeps

    'The stories are gently paced and good for reading aloud.'
    -- Janet Dowling, The School Librarian

    'A welcome change from the traditional stories we hear… The tales are refreshingly uncomplicated.'
    -- Armadillo Magazine


    Isabel Wyatt was born in England in 1901. She spent many years teaching young children and was then, until her retirement in 1965, co-director of studies at Hawkwood College in Gloucestershire. She compiled many books for children, including The Seven-Year-Old Wonder Book, Homer's Odyssey, King Beetle-Tamer and The Book of Fairy Princes. She died in 1992.


    View full details